**Table 11 Unequal Treaties** 

Table 11 Unequal Treaties			
Treaty	Year	Country	Stipulations
Nanjing	1842	United Kingdom (UK)	5 free trade ports,
			1. An indemnity of \$21 million: \$12 million for military expenses, \$6
			million for the destroyed opium, and \$3 million for the repayment
			of the hong merchants' debts to British traders.  2. Abolition of the Co-hong monopolistic system of trade.
			3. Opening of five ports to trade and residence of British consuls
			and merchants and their families: Guangzhou, Xiamen, Fuzhou,
			Ningbo, and Shanghai.
			4. Cession of Hong Kong
			5. Equality in official correspondence.
			6. A fixed tariff, to be established shortly afterwards
Bogue	1843	UK	money further elaboration treaty of Nanjing the British the right to
			anchor warships in the treaty ports, but also establishing the
			principles of extraterritoriality and most-favoured-nation status.
Wangxia	1844	USA	'most favoured-nation'
Whampoa	1844	France	'most favoured-nation'
Canton		Sweden, Norway	'most favoured-nation' not signed by Chinese government
Kulja	1851	Russia	opening Kulja and Chuguchak to Sino-Russian trade
Aigun	1858	Russia	Boundary changes river Amur + 'most favoured-nation'
Tianjin	1858	France, UK , Russia, USA	10 extra free trade ports
Peking	1860	UK, France, Russia	Kowloon treaties to UK, Outer Manchuria Russia
Tianjin	1861	Prussian Zollverein	Free trade
Chefoo	1876	UK	Tibet
Tianjin	1885	France	Free trade
Peking	1887	Portugal	Macau
Shimonoseki	1895	Japan	independence Korea, area in Liaodong, Taiwan
Li-Lobanov	1896	Russia	Railroad
Hong Kong	1898		Hong Kong
Kwanchowwan	1899	France	a small enclave on the southern coast of China leased for 99 years
Boxerprotocol	1901	UK., U.S., Japan, Russia et all	Concessions, payments, railroad police
Moscow	1907	Russia, Japan	Signed 2 treaties, 1 public and 1 secret. The secret treaty, however,
			divided Manchuria and Mongolia into 2 spheres of interest, with
			Russia in the north and Japan in the south. Outer Mongolia became
			a part of the Russian sphere
Simla	1914	UK Tibet	Tibet would be divided into "Outer Tibet" and "Inner Tibet"
21 conditions	1915	Japan	Manchuria
Tanggu	1933	Japan	Manchuria

<sup>•</sup> Legation guards. The role of these guards was to protect the legations established by foreign powers in many Chinese cities

<sup>•</sup> Railway guards. The Boxer protocol of 1901 allowed foreign powers to establish garrisoned outposts on the railroad from Beijing to Tienjin and some other railroads. The Treaty of Portsmouth which settled the war of 1904-1905 between Russia and Japan allowed the Japanese to establish 16 railroad battalions (each numbering 600 guards) in Manchuria.

- Corps of foreign volunteers. These corps constituted a kind of militia which had the role of a police force in the foreign concessions. The most well-known example was the "Shanghai Volunteer Corps" which was an international militia numbering some 1,500 men.
- Naval forces. This was the main foreign military force in China.

18 nations had treaties with China that established consular court jurisdiction over their nationals:

Austria-Hungary, Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands,

Norway, Peru, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, and the United States

Sources: Hsü Immanuel Chung-yueh (2000). The rise of modern China. Oxford University Press.

Roehner Bertrand M.(2014). Relations between western forces and the population of China. Institute for Theoretical and High Energy Physics, University of Paris 6